Vehicle Registration and Titling Questions and Answers
As a new resident of Maryland how long do I have to register my vehicle?
As a new resident of Maryland you must register your vehicle within 60 days of moving to Maryland. If you delay beyond 60 days, you will not be eligible for a tax credit for any titling tax paid in another state, and you may be subject to a citation for an out of state registration. You’ll need to present your title certificate at one of the MVA’s full service offices.
How may I obtain a duplicate registration?
To request a duplicate registration you must fill out the Application for Substitute Plates / Stickers / Duplicate Registration Form (form # VR-009).
How do I obtain a placard/plate for persons with disabilities?
To obtain a license plate or placard for persons with disabilities you must first fill out the Application for Maryland Parking Placards/License Plates for Individuals with a Disability (form # VR-210). Your physician must complete the disability certification portion of the application. You can then visit your local Maryland Speedy MVA Tag & Title in person.
I have several vehicles; how can I apply for a disability placard to use when travelling in each vehicle I own?
An individual may request disability placard(s) or plate as follows:
You may choose either one-disability placard or disability plate, or one plate and one placard or two placards. Placards are designed to easily move from one
vehicle to another, whether it’s a vehicle you own personally or a vehicle you’re riding in owned by another.
- One disability placard only, or One disability plate only, or
- One disability plate and one disability placard, or
- Two disability placards.
What is a Motor Scooter?
A motor scooter is defined in Maryland Vehicle Law, Section 11-134.5 as a non-pedal vehicle that:
- Has a seat for the operator.
- Has two wheels, of which one is 10 inches or more in diameter.
- Has a step-through chassis.
- Has a motor with a rating of 2.7 brake horsepower or less or if the motor is an internal combustion engine, with a capacity of 50 cubic centimeters piston displacement or less.
- Equipped with an automatic transmission.
What is the definition of a Motorcycle?
A “motorcycle” means a motor vehicle that:
- Has motive power;
- Has a seat or saddle for the use of the rider;
- Is designed to travel
- On not more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground; and
- At speeds exceeding 35 miles per hour; and
- Is of a type required to comply with all motor vehicle safety standards applicable to motorcycles under Federal law.
Can I register my boat at the MVA?
Maryland Speedy MVA Tag and Title does not register boats. For further information about registering boats in the state of Maryland please refer to the Department of Natural Resources. However, the Maryland Speedy MVA Tag and Title does register the boat trailer. Your boat trailer must be titled and registered for use on the highways in this state. For specifics, please refer to the procedures for titling vehicles.
What are the insurance requirements in MD?
Maryland law requires that all motor vehicles registered in Maryland be insured by a company licensed in Maryland and carry coverage of $20,000 for bodily injury per person, $40,000 for bodily injury for two or more people, and $15,000 for property damage.
Does my vehicle qualify for historic or street rod plates?
To qualify as a historic vehicle, your vehicle must not have been substantially altered, remodelled, or remanufactured from its original construction, and must be 20 model years or older.
A historic vehicle 60 years or older may obtain a one-time, permanent, non-transferable registration. This vehicle registration does not qualify for specialty plates.
Vehicles classified as historic certifies the vehicle will be maintained for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, occasional transportation and similar uses. The vehicle owner further certifies the vehicle will not be used for general daily transportation or primarily for the transportation of passengers or property on highways. You will need to fill out the Application for Historic or Street Rod Registration (form # VR-096).
To qualify as a street rod, your vehicle must be 25 years old or older and must have been substantially altered from the manufacturer’s original design.
Vehicles classified as street rod certifies the vehicle will be maintained for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, occasional transportation and similar uses. The vehicle owner further certifies the vehicle will not be used for general daily transportation or primarily for the transportation of passengers or property on highways. You will need to fill out the Application for Historic or Street Rod Registration (form # VR-096).
Can I pay for a parking or red light ticket atMaryland Speedy MVA Tag & Title orthe Motor Vehicle Administration?
No. You must contact the jurisdiction in which the citation(s) was issued to pay your fine.
Do I need to register my vehicle in Maryland if I am a member of the United States ArmedForces or the United States Public Health Service, serving on active duty in Maryland, an adjoining state, or the District of Columbia and my vehicle has a current
No, you do not need to register your personal vehicle in Maryland if you are an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces or the United States Public Health Service.
I am in the military and stationed outside of Maryland. I have purchased a vehicle that I want to title and register in Maryland; however, the vehicle has not been safety inspected. Can I obtain a safety inspection waiver?
You may be eligible for a “Temporary Inspection Waiver” (Section B for military) if:
- You are on active duty in the U.S. military; and,
- You are stationed outside of Maryland, and;
- Your home of record is in Maryland; and,
- You apply for the waiver when you apply for the vehicle’s Maryland title.
Are low speed vehicles required to be titled and registered?
Yes. Maryland law requires all low speed vehicles to be titled and registered.
Do I need a driver’s license to operate a low speed vehicle on Maryland roadways?
Yes. You must possess a valid driver’s license to operate a low speed vehicle on Maryland roads.
Are operations of low speed vehicles on roadways restricted to certain posted speeds?
Yes. A person may not drive a low speed vehicle on a roadway for which the posted maximum speed limit exceeds 30 miles per hour; or on an expressway or another controlled access highway that is signed so as to prohibit the use of these type of vehicles on its roadways.
I just brought a car from a private owner, what do I need to get MVA tags?
The title signed by seller and notarized statement of the price of vehicle if the year of vehicle is 7 years or less of current year.
When do I need to get a state inspection?
When there is transfer of ownership except when the vehicle is gifted with a parent to child, spouse to spouse.